Southern Arizona Hiking Club

Hiking the Mountains, Canyons & Trails of Southern Arizona for Over 60 Years

Trail Segment Awards

Trail Segment Lists

The lists have been updated as of April 5, 2011. Any segments that have been removed from the lists still count toward the award if hiked before April 5, 2011.

Note: Some of the Trail Segment Lists are only current thru 2017, and Santa Rita  and Urban Trails segments are current thru 2019.

The Trail Segment Awards have been created to encourage club members to get to know various mountain ranges in southern Arizona via trail hiking. Included ranges are the Santa Catalinas, the Rincons, the Tucson Mountains, the Santa Ritas, the Huachucas, Chiricahuas and the Superstitions. Only trails that are mapped and recognized by the relevant land-management agency are included.

There is also an award for hiking 25 Tucson Urban Trail segments.  

Each award, a specially-designed patch unique to each mountain range, is given for completing the requirement for that range. No additional awards or recognition exist. Completed lists can be given to the Chief Guide to receive the appropriate award.

To earn an award, a member must complete a minimum of 25 separate segments for any one of the listed ranges. All hikes must be on scheduled SAHC outings and completed after March 5, 2002.

The segment lengths vary between about one and seven miles with elevation changes ranging from zero to over 3000 feet. All mileage and elevation listings are one-way  estimates.The segments have been designed to allow determined C-level hikers the opportunity to earn each of the available trail segment awards.

Segments may be completed in any order, the numbers were assigned for list organization purposed only.

  The Tucson Urban Trails award was created to encourage club members to become familiar with hiking opportunities within the Tucson metropolitan area. A patch is awarded for completing 25 of the listed trail segments on scheduled SAHC outings. The trail segments must be hiked after August 4, 2009, for the member to receive credit. A plaque will be awarded for completion of all eight trail segment awards, including the seven mountain range awards plus the Tucson Urban Trails award.

Abbreviations used on the Trail Segments lists:

  • TH = trailhead
  • Tr = trail
  • EOT = end of trail
  • jct = junction
  • Pk = peak
  • LO = lookout
  • RS = ranger station